My favorite name – Mama

Image

Her name was Ruth, but I called her mother.

I was reminded by my friend’s daughter, Willa, how ‘mommy’ gets to be our name.

Willa is four years old and wanted to show me how she could write her name, W-I-L-L-A.

Next, we wrote my name, J-U-L-I-E.

Who is next, I asked? ‘Mommy’ she said.

I began to spell L-Y-N-N,  but Willa was already busy writing M-O-M-M-Y.

To me she is Lynn, but to Willa, she will always be Mommy.

My sons call me Mom, MaMa, and Mother, and I unconsiously answer to all three.

They are the only one’s in the whole world that will ever call me that.

It is my favorite name.

Leave a Reply

